posted in: Uncategorized | 0

Definitive Software Library ITIL


Definitive Software Library ITIL is the library in which the definitive authorized versions of all software CIs are stored and protected. It is a physical library or storage repository where master copies of software versions are placed. This one logical storage area may, in reality, consist of one or more physical software libraries or file stores. They should be separate from development and test file store areas. The Definitive Software Library ITIL may also include a physical store to hold master copies of bought-in software, e.g., fireproof safe. Only authorized software should be accepted into the DSL, strictly controlled by Change and Release Management.


The Definitive Software Library ITIL exists not directly because of the needs of the Configuration Management process, but as a common base for the Release Management and Configuration Management process. Software Control is responsible for the secure storage of software in the Definitive Software Library ITIL (DSL ITIL) and ensures that only correctly released and authorized versions are in use. The Definitive Software Library ITIL Library should:


  • only contain authorized versions of software
  • be totally separate from all other software development, testing or live area
  • hold secure copies of package software
  • keep all software up to date and free from corruption
  • be accessible only to software control and distribution staff
  • hold regular remote storage backups
  • document the status of all stored software versions


The Definitive Software Library ITIL consists of a physical store and a logical store. The physical store is where the master copies of all software media are stored. This tends to be software that has been provided from an external source. The logical store is the index of all software and releases, versions, etc. highlighting where the physical media can be located. The logical store may also be used for the storage of software developed within the organization.


The ITIL (IT Infrastructure Library) consists of 6 sets: Service Support; Service Delivery; Planning to Implement Service Management; ICT Infrastructure Management; Applications Management; The Business Perspective. Within these a variable number of very specific disciplines are described. Although the UK Government actually created ITIL via the CCTA, it is rapidly being adopted across the world as the standard for best practice in the provision of IT Service. Although ITIL covers a number of areas, its main focus is certainly on IT Service Management (ITSM).


ITIL is the only consistent and comprehensive documentation of best practice for IT Service Management. Used by many hundreds of organizations around the world, a whole ITIL philosophy has grown up around the guidance contained within the ITIL books. ITIL consists of a series of books giving guidance on the provision of quality IT services, and on the accommodation and environmental facilities needed to support IT. ITIL has been developed in recognition of organizations’ growing dependency on IT and embodies best practices for IT Service Management. ITIL provides the foundation for quality IT Service Management. The widespread adoption of the ITIL guidance has encouraged organizations worldwide, both commercial and non-proprietary, to develop supporting products as part of a shared ‘ITIL Philosophy’.

Leave a Reply